Domino’s is hopping on the gluten-free trend…well kind of. The pizza retailer is adding gluten-free crust to its menu, but because it’s made in a regular kitchen it runs the risk of gluten exposure. In other words, it’s not exactly a safe bet for those with celiac disease.
A disclaimer on Domino’s website states:
“The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness supports the availability of Domino’s Gluten Free Crust but CANNOT recommend the pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.”
They warn that they do not have a separate area in the kitchens for gluten-free cooking, meaning they’re using all the same utensils, cooking surfaces, etc. So, while the actual ingredients are gluten-free (Water, Rice Flour, Rice Starch, Potato Starch, Olive Oil, Evaporated Cane Juice, Tapioca Flour, Potato Flour, Fresh Yeast, Avicel, Salt, Calcium Propionate), the end pizza product is most likely contaminated.
So what’s the point?
People with celiac disease should be warned! Even a small amount of gluten contamination can cause an autoimmune reaction. Perhaps it’s a safer bet if you have gluten sensitivity, but at your own discretion.
However, if you’re just trying to avoid gluten because you think it’ll help you lose weight (though doctors don’t recommend this), than this could be right up your alley!